Diamonds are formed 180-220km’s beneath the earth’s surface under extreme temperatures(900-1300degrees) and pressure(45-60 Kilobars). Transported to the earth’s surface by the extremely hot kimberlite magma, they then further endure extreme challenges where the diamond-bearing ore is blasted using dynamites, then crashed during the mining process. The diamond journey doesn’t end there, as it must still undergo the process of being cut & polished, and set onto a piece of jewelry upon completion. Finally, it reaches its destination and serves its #PURPOSE!!! by sweeping a lucky lady off her feet. It constantly reminds her through the test of time that she is valued, adored and loved beyond measure.

Yes, It is true, “ONLY A DIAMOND CAN CUT A DIAMOND”. It’s the hardest naturally occurring substance known to man.
All these characteristics represent this beautiful & valuable product. 

There is a combination of four factors that determines the price of a particular diamond. You may have heard about them as the FOUR C’s. Every diamond is unique. Each reflects the story of its arduous journey from deep inside the earth to a cherished object of adornment.



The color of gem-quality diamonds occurs in many hues. In the range from colorless to light yellow or light brown, these are known as “Standard Colors“. Colorless diamonds are the rarest. Other natural colors (blue, red, pink, orange, green, yellowish-brown, greenish-yellow, brownish-orangy,  for example) are known as “Fancy Colors,” and their color grading is different from standard color diamonds. Fancy color diamonds are amongst the rarest too.

The Color of a diamond actually refers to the lack of color in a diamond(applicable to standard colors), with perfectly colorless diamonds considered the highest quality with the highest value, and brown or yellow diamonds being the lowest quality.  Although many people think of gem-quality diamonds as colorless, truly colorless diamonds are actually very rare. Most diamonds used in jewelry are nearly colorless with tints of yellow or brown. The GIA Color Scale extends from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow or brown).



Clarity is the state of a diamond being clear or transparent. Diamond clarity is the presence or absence of characteristics called inclusions in the diamond or external characteristics known as blemishes.  Diamonds without inclusions or blemishes are rare; however, most characteristics can only be seen with magnification
When grading the clarity of a diamond, the lab determines the relative visibility of the inclusions in a diamond and its impact on the overall visual appearance. The modern clarity scale was invented in the 1950s, by a former president of GIA, Richard T. Liddicoat, Jr. With minor modifications, it has been the universal standard ever since, using verbal descriptors most are now familiar with: Flawless, Internally Flawless, VVS1, VVS2, VS1, VS2, SI1, SI2, I1, I2, and I3.

The clarity grade is determined on a scale of decreasing clarity from the highest clarity (Flawless or FL) to the lowest clarity (Included 3, or I3).



Of all the 4Cs, the diamond cut has the greatest effect on a diamond’s beauty. In determining the quality of the cut, the diamond grader evaluates the cutter’s skill in the fashioning/polishing of the diamond. The more precise the diamond is cut, the more captivating the diamond is to the eye. The cut of a diamond refers to how well the diamond’s facets interact with light, the proportions of the diamond, and the overall finish of the diamond.

It is not to be confused with the shape, (like emerald or round brilliant,) but is instead a reference to the craftsmanship of the diamond and how it factors into the diamond’s brilliance. The cut grade is determined on a scale of decreasing cut from the highest cut (Excellent or EX) to the lowest cut (Poor or P).



The carat is the diamond’s physical weight measured in metric carats. One carat equals 1/5 gram and is subdivided into 100 points. Carat weight is the most objective grade of the 4Cs. One carat equals 200 milligrams in weight.

For diamonds under one carat, each carat is divided into 100 points – similar to pennies in a dollar. 0.75 ct. = 75 points, 1/2 ct. = 50 points.Carat is the unit of measurement for the physical weight of diamonds. One carat equals 0.200 grams or 1/5 gram and is subdivided into 100 points. For comparison, in units more familiar in the United States, one carat equals 0.007-ounce avoirdupois.

Standard Diamond Colors

There are three standard colors, which are white, yellow and brown.The diamond color evaluation of most gem-quality diamonds is based on the absence of color.

A chemically pure and structurally perfect diamond has no hue, like a drop of pure water, and consequently, a higher value.” However, the second category is opposite. The color yellow and brown, although standard are considered rare if the saturation, hue and tone surpass a certain level.

Fancy Diamond Colors

Fancy colors, are rare colors in which diamonds are formed. E.g Red, pink, blue, orange, green. The color yellow and brown, although standard are considered rare if the saturation, hue and tone surpass a certain level.

Custom Jewellery Design

We believe that your jewellery should be as unique as you are

Our Beliefs

Ethically Sourced. Naturally Mined.Craftsmanship.Beauty, Art, Perfection

We only sell the best

All our OCGems Diamonds are GIA graded